Quebec City's Cultural Attractions on TransCanadaHighway.com
Quebec City has a number of attractions and museums that help visitors enjoy Quebec:
Atelier Paré - Economuseum of Woodcarving
9269, avenue Royale
Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré, QC G0A 3C0
(418) 827-3992, Fax: (418) 827-3583
This museum lets visitors relive the "joie de vivre" of famous Québec legends through works of art made from wood or fibreglass. The artists uncover the essence of these tales hidden in the heart of a tree and bring them to life in painted wooden sculptures. Watch as artists produce works to be added to the museum's indoor exhibition and stroll through the garden of legends outside the economuseum. A storyteller is on hand to recount legends for $1 per person. Artwork and handicrafts may be purchased at the gift shop at this 60 year-old family business. Gguided tours of the garden will be offered in the summer (schedule onsite). Parking. Opening Hours:: May 15 to October 15, 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.£ October 16 to May 14, Monday to Friday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m£ Saturday and Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.£ Closed Mondays and Tuesdays in November, December and January. Free Admission
Attractions Musée Bon-Pasteur
14, rue Couillard
Québec, QC G1R 3S9
(418) 694-0243, Fax: (418) 694-6233
This modern museum reveals the plight of outcast women in the mid-nineteenth century and introduces three Québec City figures who defended them: Marie Josephte Fitzbach, George Manly Muir and Marie Métivier. See period furniture, paintings and videos: "The Bon Pasteur Community of Québec City" and "An Adoption in 1949". Personalized tours in French and English; Portuguese by request.
Centre d'interprétation de la vie urbaine de la Ville de Québec (Québec City Interpretive Centre)
43, côte de la Fabrique
Québec, QC G1R 5M1
(418) 641-6172, Fax: (418) 641-6386
Permanent multimedia exhibition, "Québec, A New City" projected onto a giant screen and of an interactive audioguide transporting visitors into the heart of the eight boroughs. In French, English and Spanish. Open: June 24 to Labor Day: daily, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.. The rest of the year, Tuesday to Sunday. Admission: adults: $3; students and senior citizens: $2, children (12 or under): free. Special rates for groups upon reservation.
Centre d'interprétation du Parc de la falaise et de la chute Kabir Kouba (Kabir Kouba waterfall)
103, rue Racine
Loretteville, QC G2B 1C9
(418) 842-0077, Fax: (418) 842-7495
Interpretation Centre, located in Loretteville, highlights the various attractions of the park, the history of the Kabir Kouba waterfall, its legend, and the characteristics of its geological formation, fossils, "pot-holes", flora and fauna. Guided tours from May 15 to October 31, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
634, rue Saint-Jean
Québec, QC G1R 1P8
(418) 524-2122, Fax: (418) 524-4558
Learn the history of chocolate from Mayan times to this day, See ancient and modern accessories, chocolate-making techniques (video and view on the kitchen) and more at this combination Chocolate shop and museum. For chocolate lovers: handmade chocolate, cookies, brownies, cakes, homemade ice cream. Group visits upon reservation. Free admission.
Coalition pour la sauvegarde et la mise en valeur du Pont de Québec (Quebec Bridge, International Historic Monument)
2, rue des Jardins, bureau 325
Québec, QC G1R 4S9
(418) 641-6411, Fax: (418) 641-6465
The Québec cantilever bridge is an international historic monument to civil engineering science, by both the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering and the American Society of Civil Engineers. The central suspended span is 549 metres in length between the two pillars, and is the longest cantilever bridge in the world. During construction, this span collapsed twice (1907 and 1916), but the bridge was finally opened to railway traffic in 1917, and in 1929 to motorists.
Corporation pour la mise en valeur du quai de Portneuf (Portneuf Wharf)
297, 1re Avenue
C. P. 100
Portneuf, QC G0A 2Y0
(418) 286-2263, Fax: (418) 286-4304
This deep-water wharf extends over one kilometre (600 feet) into the river channel. See the ancient art of fishing with fascine nets, spread out at right angles from the jetty, still in practice. The main catches are eels and sturgeons. Next to the wharf, a recreational park provides a ramp for pleasure boats and provides boating, canoeing, kayaking, windsurfing, walking, ornithology, photography, cycling
Domaine Maizerets (Maizerets Floral Gardens)
2000, boulevard Montmorency
Québec, QC G1J 5E7
(418) 691-2385, Fax: (418) 660-6421
This historic site and vast landscape garden is on one of New-France's first concessions, domaine Maizerets, now belongs to the City of Québec. Various activities for family: cultural and educational exhibitions, concerts at the château Maizerets, visits of the floral gardens and the arboretum, outdoor and nature interpretation activities, pedestrian trails to explore the park and marsh. Winter activities: skating, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, sliding and hiking trails are offered with equipment rental and cloakroom. It is also the starting point of two major bicycle trails "Corridor des Cheminots" (through municipalities) and "Corridor du Littoral (along the St Lawrence river). Open daily, from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Free admission.
François-Xavier Garneau House
14, rue Saint-Flavien
Québec, QC G1R 4J8
(418) 692-2240, Fax: (418) 692-3980
This elegant Vieux-Québec bourgeois home showcases Victorian furnishings, a rare book collection, olden day gramophone music, widow's walk on the rooftop, and the most beautiful antique Christmas tree in Québec City, with 19th century Christmas decorations and period manger arrangement. There is also an exhibit with over 50 objects originating from the famous wrecked steamer, the Empress of Ireland.
Hippodrome de Québec (Quebec Horse Track)
250, boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel
Québec, QC G1K 7M9
(418) 524-5283, Fax: (418) 524-0776
The Hippodrome de Québec features intertrack races starting at 12 noon year-round ! Air conditioned Le Paddock and Le Club House restaurants feature inclusive race-and-meal packages and a stunning view of the racetrack and Laurentian mountains. Free parking, no entrance fee. Double the excitement in the videopoker salon featuring 100 video slot machines, a sure way to keep you entertained. Open daily from 9 AM.
Hôtel de Glace Québec-Canada (Quebec Ice Hotel)
143, route Duchesnay
Sainte-Catherine-de-la-Jacques-Cartier, QC G0A 3M0
Toll free: 1 877 505 0423
(418) 875-4522, Fax: (418) 875-2833
Located at the Station écotouristique Duchesnay (20 minutes west of Québec City), From early January to early April, discover the only Ice Hotel in America. This amazing 3,000 m2 (30,000 sq ft) complex made entirely of snow and ice has 32 rooms and theme suites, a wedding chapel, the Absolut Bar, 2 exhibition rooms, a grand hall with its fibre optic candelabra, a huge reception room (N'Ice Club), functional Jacuzzis and fireplaces., enjoy a full array of winter activities: skating, sliding, dog sledding, snowmobiling, ice fishing.
7655, chemin Samuel
Charlesbourg, QC G1H 7H4
(418) 626-2986 ou 624-7745, Fax: (418) 624-7230
Maison Bédard was built during theealy 1800s, south-east of Charlesbourg's Trait-Carré.The descendants of pioneer families from Charlesbourg: the Lefebvre, the Paradis, the Bédard, have lived in the house in succession. Restored to its original state as an average farmer's dwelling in 1988, today the house is used as a historic interpretation centre and houses the "Société historique de Charlesbourg".
2608, chemin Saint-Louis
Sainte-Foy, QC G1V 4E1
(418) 654-4325, Fax: (418) 654-4151
The Cultural Centre of Sainte-Foy was once a cottage-style family residence. A place of diffusion and animation which focuses on actual concerns in the field of visual art, music with year-round cultural program accessible to everyone. Open: Tuesday through Sunday, 12:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday, 12:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Closed on Mondays. Free admission.
82, Grande Allée Ouest
Québec, QC G1R 2G6
Toll free: 1 800 494-4347
(418) 647-4347, Fax: (418) 647-6483
This ornamented, authentically decorated cottage and its heritage garden relate the life and times of the Stuart family, who lived in it from 1918 to 1988. Guided tours of the home, listed as a historical monument, and more with the Réseau des intérieurs et jardins anciens de Québec. Opening hours (summer): June 24 to September 1st, daily from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. September 2nd to June 23, Sundays from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.; reservations required other days. Admission (summer fees): $5 / adults, 4 $ / seniors, 3 $ / students, 2 $ / kids from 6 to 12 years old and free for kids under 5 years old. Winter fees :$5
Moulin de la Chevrotière (Chevrotière Mill)
117, rue St-Joseph
Deschambault, QC G0A 1S0
(418) 286-6862, Fax: (418) 286-3503
This 1802 mill is located at the western neighbourhood of Deschambault, on rue Chavigny, the former route of the "chemin du Roy". The mill houses several exhibits on the seigneurial system, archaeology, the St. Lawrence River, the imagined or imaginary doors, and other themes. Open: 7 days a week from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. from mid-June to earlySeptember. Advance booking required year-round. Enjoy the interpretive nature trails along the river.
Musée des Augustines de l'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
32, rue Charlevoix
Québec, QC G1R 5C4
(418) 692-2492 x 215, Fax: (418) 692-2668
This museum looks at history, art, and ethnology with exhibits of French furniture, paintings, embroideries, silver and pewter items. There is a special exhibition on the evolution of medical instruments from the 17th century to the present day. Guided tours Tues-Sat 8:30 am to noon and 1:20 to 5 pm, Sundays 1:30 to 5 pm. Free admission.
Moulin des Jésuites (Jesuit Mill)
7960, boulevard Henri-Bourassa
Charlesbourg, QC G1H 3G3
(418) 624-7720, Fax: (418) 624-7519
This stone mill dates back to the French Regime (approximately 1740). The mill stands as a witness to the history and economic development of this once rural community. Today, it is a historical interpretation and tourism information centre, as well as serving as the departure point for the walking tour through Trait-Carré. Opening Hours: Daily, June 16 to September 6, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. September 11 to June 12, 2005, Saturdays and Sundays, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission: Adults and children (16 and over): $2. Children (15 and under): Free. Packages ranging from $3 to $7. Guided tours of the mill and Trait-Carré: Year-round, on reservation only.
Musée d'art INUIT Brousseau (Brouseau Museum of Inuit Art)
39, rue Saint-Louis
C. P. 758, succursale Haute-Ville
Québec, QC G1R 4S7
(418) 694-1828, Fax: (418) 694-2086
Musée d'art Inuit Brousseau is a new museum featuring two exhibitions dedicated to canadian inuit art: one temporary and a permanent one.
Musée de cire de Québec (Quebec Wax Museum)
22, rue Sainte-Anne
Québec, QC G1R 3X3
(418) 692-2289, Fax: (418) 694-3099
Located in a 17th century house, this is the only wax museum in the province, and has life-size wax figures featuring Québec history on the first floor, and contemporary celebrities on the second floor. Open. May to October, daily 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Other months, daily 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission: adults: $4£ students: $3£ children: free if accompagnied with a parent. Group rates.
Musée de la civilisation (Museum of Civilization)
85, rue Dalhousie
C. P. 155, succursale B
Québec, QC G1K 7A6
(418) 643-2158, Fax: (418) 646-9705 Toll free: 1-866-710-8031
A popular thematic and interactive museum. All presentations are in French, with bilingual guides available and English materials for self-guifed tours. Open June 24 - Labour Day daily 10 am to 7 pm; ret of year Tues - Sun 10 am to 5 pm. Admsission: $7 adults, $seniors $6, students with ID $4, children 12-16 $2; free to all on Tuesdays, day after Labour Day, and June 24.
Musée de la mot (Motorcycle Museum)o
2495, boulevard Hamel Ouest
Québec, QC G1P 2H9
(418) 683-1340, Fax: (418) 683-7597
The Musée brings the Harley-Davidson back to life, with some models dating back to the 1920s, '30s, and '40s, and many more. Discover the different characteristics of these machines. Four "Softail Springers" pay tribute to the internationally renowned Rolling Stones. Open: year-round, Monday to Wednesday, 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Thursday, Friday, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m, Saturday (December to May), 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Closed Sunday.
Musée de l'abeille - Honey Economuseum (Insects & Honeybee EconoMuseum)
8862, boulevard Sainte-Anne
Château-Richer, QC G0A 1N0
(418) 824-4411, Fax: (418) 824-4422 Toll free: 1 877 499-4411
Six-footed insects have more than a million species, and you can become more acquainted with bees while sweetening your visit with a taste of honey. The Musée de l'Abeille is an "Economuseum" devoted to explaining the life and work of honeybees. Observe the movements of bees in glass-encased hives or watch a beekeeper in the Bee-Safari. The boutique offers you hive's products and our famous pastries, cake, and honey wine.
Musée de l'Amérique française (Museum of French America)
2, côte de la Fabrique
C. P. 460
Québec, QC G1R 4R7
(418) 692-2843, Fax: (418) 646-9705
Bilingual guided visits of the largest collection of cylinder phonographs and graphophones in the country. See more than 200 machines, some unique in the world, as an alarm-clock phonograph.
Observatoire de la Capitale (Capital Observatory)
1037, de la Chevrotière, 31ième étage
Québec, QC G1R 5E9
Overlooking Parliament Hill, and 221 m (750 feet) above sea level, you get a bird's eye view of the city and surrounding area. Admire the frozen St. Lawrence River in the winter, mountains draped in red in the fall and the many parks and festivals in the summer. Discover 400 years of Québec City's history, as well as learn how it became the provincial capital and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Ask about our guided tours in French, English and Spanish. Be sure to bring your camera along to take some incredible photographs!
Parc du Bois-de-Coulonge (Spencer Wood)
1215, chemin Saint-Louis
Sillery, QC G1S 1E7
(418) 528-0773, Fax: (418) 528-0833 Toll free: 1 800 442-0773
Called Spencer Wood in the early 19th century by its owner, Henry Atkinson, became a showcase for horticulture in North America, with its location overlooking the St. Lawrence. For nearly 20 years, the Governors General of United Canada lived here. The Québec government bought the property in 1870 as the residence for Québec Lieutenant-Governors until 1966, when a major fire destroyed the main residence. Bois-de-Coulonge is one of Québec City's most remarkable public parks. Open: daily. Free admission. Free motorcoach parking. Pay parking lot for cars.
Parc maritime de Saint-Laurent
120, chemin de la Chalouperie
Saint-Laurent-de-l'Île-d'Orléans, QC G0A 3Z0
(418) 828-9672, Fax: (418) 828-2170
The smell of the freshly cut wood; the shape of an old style rowboat. Discover the islanders' knowledge.
Société des amis du Jardin Roger-Van den Hende (Roger-Van den Hende Botanical Garden)
Pavillon Envirotron, local 1246
2480, boulevard Hochelaga
Sainte-Foy, QC G1K 7P4
(418) 656-3410, Fax: (418) 656-7871
Designed and landscaped from 1966 to 1975, the garden covers six hectares and displays more than 2,100 species and cultivars grouped by botanical families. Of particular interest are the water garden, herbaceous borders, rose garden, and a rhododendron planting. Open: May 1 to September 30, daily, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Free admission. Guided tours (groups only) on request (nominal fee).
The Citadelle/Royal 22e Régiment Museum
Côte de la Citadelle
Québec, QC G1R 4V7
(418) 694-2815, Fax: (418) 694-2853
The Citadelle, also called the Gibraltar of America, is a unique site from which to acquaint oneself with Québec's Military history. Accessed off the St Louis St at Porte St Louis at the Cote de la Citadelle. This fortress was built in 1820-1852 on the site of the 17th century French fortification. The Citadelle is one of two offical residences of the Governor General of Canada. It remains the largest fortification garrisoned by regular troops and the museum contains many military artifacts and documents. Ceremonial changing of the guard daily at 10 am June 24 to Labour Day. One hour guided tours, which alternate in French and English. Open July 1 to Labour Day, daily 9 am to 6 pm; April 1 to mid-May daily 10 am to 3 pm; mid-May to June 30 daily 9 am to 4 pm; September daily 10 am to 4 pm. Admission $5.50, seniors $4, agges 7-17 $2.75.
Une capitale sur la colline (Capital Tunnels)
525, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
Québec, QC G1R 5S9
Toll free: 1 800 442-0773
(418) 528-0773, Fax: (418) 528-0833
An illustrated exhibit on the history and architecture of Parliament Hill is presented in the tunnel linking Place Québec and the Marie-Guyart Building. Fifteen images with detailed descriptions. Open from 6 a.m. to midnight.
Blue = Trans-Canada Route| Green = bicycle friendly scenic route | red = downtown detour from TCH
|Use mouse to drag/move map. Click on "+" or "-" to zoom in or out. "Satellite" shows photo, "Hybrid" combines map & photo.|