The name of the river is derived from the Maliseet “Welamooktook,” meaning either “deep water” or “good river for easy canoe navigation.” Earlier spellings were “Ramouctu” and the French called it “La Rivière Kamouctu” in 1684. “Oromocto” was first used by Charles Morris in 1775 and has been the spelling from the early 19th century onwards. Oromocto Island and Oromocto Lake take their name from the river. The town of Oromocto was incorporated in 1956, and is home of Canadian Forces base (CFB) Gagetown, the largest military training bases in the British Commonwealth.
Oromocto Pioneer Days (end June)
Canadian Forces Base Gagetown Military Museum
Building A-5 via Main Gate, CFB Gagetown, via Routes 102 or 7
Museum has displays of weapons, uniforms, equipment, and memorabilia showcasing New Brunswick military history from the 1800’s, the South African War, First and Second World Wars. Plus the Korean War and various UN missions since then. Military vehicles in outdoor displays,. Allow 1 hour. Open June-August Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm, Sat, Sun & holidays 10 am to 4 pm,; rest of year Mon-Fri 8am to 4 pm. Free admission
French Lake Beach
Route 660 (exit 20 or 29), 2 km south of Oromocto
In Sunbury-Oromocto Park, unsupervised freshwater beach, with change house, washrooms and parking. The park also has a campground.
1 Wharf Rd, Oromocto, NB E2V 2R6
(Onondaga St, from MacDonald Avenue)
Along Sir Douglas Hazen Park, the riverfront is managed by the Oromocto Boat Club.
Deer Park Trail System
This trail borders a Duck Unlimited Marsh, the Oromocto River.
Oromocto Bicentennial Family Park
Waasis Road, from #7, #102 or from the Burton Bridge
Trail system and picnic area.
The Oromocto Skateboard Park is located at the end of the Waasis Road in Oromocto West. This new facility also includes a contoured all-terrain bike trail for the BMX enthusiasts.