Here are some of St John’s more popular and accessible Oceanfront & Aquatic Attractions:
Admiralty House Museum And Archives
3 Centennial Street
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, A1N 1G4
(709) 748-1124, fax: 748-1115
The former British Admiralty Wireless Station is now communications museum. Exhibits on H.M.S. Calypso, Sir James Pearl, Sports Hall of Fame and Short Wave Radio Room. Meeting room or gardens available for rent. Open year-round.
180 Main Road, St. Vincent’s
mailing: General Delivery
St. Vincent’s, Newfoundland, A0B 3C0
(709) 525-2798, fax; (709) 525-2110
Driving East or West on Route 1, take Route 90, Salmonier Line, a one hour drive. From St. John’s via Route 10 Southern Shore, a two hour drive.
Fisherman’s Museum, located on Main Road behind the church in St. Vincent’s, is housed in a former convent and overlooks beautiful Holyrood Pond. Relive the memories of a way of life that is almost lost. It is near the shores of a well-known cobblestone beach, where the humpbacks come to play each summer.
From Jul 01 – Sep 01
(709) 729-2830, tollfree: 1-800-563-6353, fax: 729-0057
The east coast of the Avalon Peninsula between Cape St. Francis and Ferryland, plus Route 80 from Grates Cove to Heart’s Content are good places to see bergs. Boat tours are excellent ways to see bergs.
Calved in the high arctic, these gigantic ice cathedrals are carried by the Labrador current along the Northeastern Coast of Newfoundland every spring. Icebergs can be seen from various vantage points in and around St. John’s as they move south. Once grounded, some can be seen for weeks, giving ample opportunity for viewing.
From Mar 15 – Aug 31
Ocean Sciences Centre, Fisheries & Marine Institute Of Memorial University
4 km north on Logy Bay Rd to Marine Dr, then 2 km east on Marine Lab Rd.
P.O. Box 4920
St. John’s, Newfoundland, A1C 5R3
(709) 778-0372, tollfree: 1-800-563-5799, fax: 778-0672
Tours may include specialized facilities such as: marine simulation facilities, the world’s largest flume tank, an aquaculture facility and a fully equipped and licensed seafood processing facility. There is an outside touch tank and the outside seal facility.
Interpreters are available from June 1 to Labour Day daily from 10a.m. to 5p.m, Mon-Frid 9 am to 5 pm rest of year. Admission. Allow 1 hour.
Point Verde Lighthouse
P.O. Box 5667
St.John’s, Newfoundland, A1C 5X1
(709) 772-5183, fax: 772-5369
Built in 1876, there have been many tower changes since then. The present tower is a 12 foot fibreglass structure which was constructed in 1975. The lighthouse has been automated in the last few years. Open year-round.
Quidi Vidi Village
Quidi Vidi Village, a 17th century fishing village, lies within city limits at the base of Signal Hill. The village’s small chapel, Christ Church, was built in 1842.
Box 5, Nagles Place
St. John’s, Newfoundland, A1B 2Z2
Unique freshwater facility. Watch brown trout and see the secret life of a river through underwater viewing windows. Fascinating exhibits; live displays of freshwater creatures including frogs, eels, salmonids, aquatic insects. open yer-round.
The Spout is a wave-driven geyser located mid-way between Shoal Bay in the Goulds and Bay Bulls. First described in 1664, this geyser will blow a spout of up to 50 metres when the seas are rough. You can actually hear it “breathe” when standing nearby. Access is via the East Coast Trail or by boat.
Harbour Drive, along the northern bank of St. John’s Harbour
Enjoy a wonderful view of the ships from all over the world that tie up to the wharf and of the often feverish activity that accompanies them. The wharf is as lengthy as Harbour Drive and it is possible to walk to the edge for close-up views of the vessels. Four rest areas along the Marginal Wharf, with interpretation panels about the harbour’s history, provide pleasant, safe space to sit and relax. Several boat tours depart from sites along the waterfront.
Titanic & Iceberg Interpretation Centre
152 Water Street (corner Patrick & Hamilton Ave)
St. John’s, Newfoundland, A1C 1A9
(709) 738-3292, fax; 738-3293
Travel back in time to April 15, 1912 to the most famous luxury ship ever built! Authentic artifacts exhibition, amazing reproductions, theatre room, iceberg room, Marconi display, gift shop.
Winter hours 10 am to 4:30 pm, summer hours daily 10 am to 8 pm.
Humpback, minke and many other types of whales arrive in the waters around St. John’s from June until August. Boat tours can be taken from St. John’s Harbour.
Whales And Bergs Inc.
2 Strawberry Marsh Road
St. John’s, Newfoundland, A1B 2V4
(709) 726-8104, tollfree: 1-877-726 8104
Newfoundland, And Labrador lives by the sea. Enjoy breathtaking views plus whales and icebergs. Guided hiking, biking, kayak, sail boat and motor boat tours.
From May 01 – Oct 31
Winterton Boat Building Museum
P.O. Box 147
Winterton, Newfoundland, A0B 3M0
(709) 583-2010, fax: (709) 583-2099
The museum has artifacts and displays depicting the lifestyle and culture of rural Newfoundland with a special emphasis on the design, construction, and use of small, inshore fishing boats.
From Jun 01 – Sep 30