In the year 1811, a Grant of 800 acres was issued to 6 families by the Province of Nova Scotia, stretching from Indian Harbour to Pollock Cove. The town is named for the sole survivor of a shipwrecked schooner which was wrecked on “Halibut Rock” off the Lighthouse Point, who’s name was Margaret and married one of the Cove’s eligible bachelors. People came from nearby to visit “Peggy” of the Cove, and soon they began to call the place Peggy’s Cove. In 1998, the town was the site of the crash of Swissair Flight 111, which was commemorated with a memorial.
This community is one of the most picturesque and charming fishing villages on the East Coast, with rustic weather-worn wharves balanced on huge granite boulders around the village, and the lighthouse positioned on a granite ledge. In the summertime, the lighthouse serves as post office.
Peggy’s Cove Attractions
Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse
72 Peggys Point Rd, Peggys Cove, NS B3Z 3S2
The most well-known lighthouse in Canada, and one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world, was built in 1914. he community’s original lighthouse (remembered by both long-time locals and visitors) was damaged in the hurricane, left standing for a number of years, and finally demolished in 1954.
William E. deGarthe Memorial Provincial Park
131 Peggys Cove Rd, Peggys Cove, NS B3Z 3S2
(Off Hwy 333)
902 823-2256 fax 902-823-1074, 1-866-230-1586
deGarthe carved this “lasting monument to Nova Scotian fishermen” on the 30-m (100-ft) face of a granite outcropping
behind his house. The sculpture depicts 32 fishermen, their wives and children, a guardian angel
with wings spread and the legendary Peggy of Peggy’s Cove. Admission fee. Open year-round.