Here are the most popular children’s attractions in North York:
Black Creek Pioneer Village
1000 Murray Ross Pkwy, North York, ON M3N 1S4
Jane & Steeles W (watch for signs from Highways 400, 401 and 407)
This takes you back to rural Ontario community in 1867, when Canada was formed. See farms, a blacksmith shop, a one-room school house, and 40 restored heritage homes, shops and gardens, staffed with costumed interpreters and artisans. Open year-round, Vary by season, see website for details. Admission $$/
Ontario Science Centre
770 Don Mills Road, Toronto,M3C 1T3
The Ontario Science Centre houses an OMNIMAX Theatre, which presents a variety of IMAX films on science and nature, and showcases rotating exhibits, educational programs and special events. The centre is open seven days a week from 10 am-5 pm (Closed Dec 25).
Directions: Don Valley Parkway, north until Don Mills Road north or south to Wynford Drive west. Parking at the Ontario Science Centre is $8.00 per vehicle and is cash only.
TTC: Exit Eglinton station (Yonge Street subway) and take #34 Eglinton East bus to Don Mills Road, or exit Pape station (Bloor-Danforth subway) and take #25 Don Mills bus north to St. Dennis Drive.
Toronto Aerospace Museum
65 Carl Hall Rd, North York, M3K 2B6
(Parc Downsview Park, the former Canadian Forces Base Downsview)
416-638-6078 Fax: 416-638-5509
Opened in 2000, learn about artifacts and full-size aircraft associated with the development of aviation and aerospace in the Toronto area. For more than 50 years, Downsview was an air force base and home for Canada’s oldest air force squadron and other flying units. See the original shop equipment used by Canadian Aeroplanes to build 1,200 Curtiss JN-4 biplanes in 1917-18. See an Avro Lancaster X, FM104, built by Victory Aircraft at Malton during the war, which is being restored after 35 years as part of a Toronto waterfront war memorial. The museum is building a full-size replica of the magnificent Avro CF-105 Arrow supersonic interceptor, which first flew at Toronto’s Malton Airport in 1958. The history of de Havilland Canada is depicted with photos, artifacts, and the last CS2F Tracker anti-submarine aircraft built at Downsview for the Royal Canadian Navy. Other exhibits include sport aircraft and trainers, piston engines and Toronto-made jet engines, and rare flight training simulators used in the 1940s and 1950s. Open Wednesday, 10 am-8 pm; Thursday-Saturday, 10 am-4 pm; Sunday, Noon-4 pm; Holiday Mondays, 10 am-4 pm. Admission $. Group rates available.
Directions From #401 to Keele Street North exit. Turn right (east) on Sheppard Ave to the entrance of Downsview Park. Turn right into the park (onto John Drury Road) to Carl Hall Road. Turn left at Carl Hall and continue east over the railway tracks to the Museum, which is on your right hand side.
1091 Finch Avenue East, Toronto, M2J 2X3
416-395-7435 Fax: 416-395-1208
The 1869 Zion Schoolhouse has been restored to the 1910 period, to reflect schooling in the farming community of L’Amaroux at the turn of the last century. School classes (Grades 3 to 8, Maximum 34 students) and other groups come to the Schoolhouse to experience unique role-playing programs and a 1910 school curriculum (cost $) bring your own costume and lunch. Easy school bus & car drop-off on Trudy Road. Lunch facilities available, with public washrooms. Fully accessible.
TTC: Finch East Bus from Finch Station.