Whitby, which lies between Ajax & Oshawa, has 111,184 residents (2006), up 27% since 2001 and more than double the 1986 population of 45,800 people.
Whitby was named for a town on England’s eastern coast, and original name has Danish (Viking) origins, basically meaning a village of white houses. The Town of Whitby was incorporated in 1855, three years after it was chosen as the seat of government for the newly formed County of Ontario. Whitby has a fine harbour, used since the 1830s which led to an 1840s settlement road to connect Whitby Harbour and Georgian Bay. By the 1870s a railway connected the community with Port Perry and Lindsay.
During the Second World War, Whitby was the location of the secret spy training facility, “Camp X,” established by Sir William Stephenson, the “Man Called Intrepid” (now just a monument commemorates the location). In 1968, the Town of Whitby & Township of Whitby amalgamated into the current municipality, and in 1974 became port of the Durham Regional Municipality.
Whitby has a beautiful harbour with two marinas, the Whitby Shores Waterfront Trails:
Camp X Intrepid Park
2008 Boundary Rd, Whitby, ON L1N 7G4
(Boundary Road at Lake Ontario, on Whitby’s waterfront trail)
Mailing: P.O. Box 23, Whitby, L1N 5R7
Commemorates the Canadians who trained fought as agents behind enemy lines in the Special Operations Executive (SOE), under Sir William Stephenson. Camp X, their training base, was located on a 275-acre farm bordering Lake Ontario, and was a joint Anglo / American / Canadian intelligence operation. Camp X started winding down in 1944, it continued to play a role during the early years of the Cold War. A small memorial with a panoramic view of Lake Ontario marks the former location of the Camp.
Camp X Tours
Intrepid Park, on Boundary Road
Join renowned author Lyn Phillip Hodgson for an hour-long tour of Camp X at 1:00 both Saturday and Sunday. Meet at the monument and explore the former top secret WWII spy training school on the shores of Lake Ontario.
Port Whitby Marina
301 Watson St W, Whitby, ON L1N 1A2
(By water – Coordinates – Near Buoy 43 50,92N, 78 55,62’W)
On one of the finest and largest harbours on Lake Ontario. The 420 slip full-service Marina has floating steel docks, protected harbour and easy access from Highway 401. Customs call-in station, full season dockage & winter storage. Launch Ramp open April 15 to October 31. Surrounded by acres of parkland and waterfront trails. Port Whitby Marina’s Clubhouse, opened in 2005, is open to the public and offers food and refreshment.
Whitby Shores Waterfront Trails
Whitby’s six-kilometre stretch of the Waterfront Trail along the picturesque shoreline includes several natural areas, including Lynde Shore Conservation Area and Thickson’s Woods.This is the last remaining stand of old-growth white pines on the north shore of Lake Ontario. The historical Rowe House, home of first mayor, is open to public. Main Access Points (with parking) are:
- Port Whitby Rotary Sunrise Lake Park – 269 Water St.
- Heydenshore Kiwanis Park – 589 Water St.
GO Transit – Whitby Station – 1350 Brock St. South
Whitby Station Gallery
1450 Henry Street
Whitby, Ontario L1N 0A8
905-668-4185 Fax: 905-668-1934
Located in a relocated Victorian Grand Trunk Railway Station, with 10,000 square feet of exhibit & studio space.Free admission.Open Mon-Fri from 10 am to 4:30 (Thursdays till 9 pm), Sat & Sun 12 until 4 pm.