This town as originally named Cascumpec and was renamed in honour of Prince Albert, who visited the Island in 1860. The town is also home of the silver fox fur industry in the province, founded by Sir Charle Dalton, which is commemorated by a monument outside of town. The silver fox industry declined during the Great Depression of the 1930s. The nearby coastal village of Northport has a restored rescue station and lifeboat, used to save the men of the 1906 rescue of the sailing vessel McKean.
457 Church St, Alberton, PE C0B 1B0
The museum is housed in the former town courthouse and jail, erected in 1878. This National Historic Site depicts Island life through community history displays – veterans, cooper and blacksmith shops, silver fox, Mi’qmaq Indians, harness racer Joe O’Brien,household items, quilts and mats, china and Island industry. The museum boasts the most extensive collection of Island genealogical information and photographs for West Prince. Open June-Sept, daily, 10 am-5:30 pm; Sun, 1-5 pm. Admission.