Located at the mouth of the Cardigan River on the east coast of Prince Edward Island. The Mi’kmaq, who had been here first, named the area “Samkook” meaning “a sandy shore”. Cardigan was named by the British in 1765 after George Brudenell, the fifth Earl of Cardigan. Today, the primary industries in Cardigan are services, manufacturing and fishing. Cardigan has a marina, a popular farmers market, a large family park, hiking trails, and is close to local beaches, golf courses and other attractions.
Here are some of the attractions in and around Cardigan:
Cardigan Water Science Centre
Cardigan RR3, C0A 1G0. Rte 5
(902) 583-3474; fax (902) 583-3223
Take a guided tour of the Cardigan Fish Hatchery and the Water Recirculation facility. Take an interpretive tour of our scenic nature trail, daily programming, and children’s science camps throughout the summer months, and evn visit the Cardigan U-Fish on the property (open Apr 1-Nov 15). Open year round, daily. Programming costs vary depending on content.
Hwy 2 to the 313 south in the south eastern area of the island.
Just above Georgetown Harbour is this park, with camping available. Canoe or kayak on the intermediately rated Brudenell River, with great access to the ocean lots of places to explore within paddling distance. You could put together a trip involving Panmure Island at the en of St Mary’s Harbour.