Trans-Canada Yellowhead Route

The Yellowhead Route follows the #16 Highway from Winnipeg, Manitoba to Prince Rupert, British Columbia and after a ferry crossing finishes on Haida Gwaii (previously  named the Queen Charlotte Islands). The Yellowhead Route runs the same route as the #1 main route from Winnipeg west to Portage la Prairie, and then begins its northwest meander just south of Riding Mountain National Park, then across Saskatchewan through Yorkton, Saskatoon, North Battleford, and the bi-provincial city of Lloydminster. As it crosses Alberta it passes through Vermillion, Vegreville,  the provincial capital of  Edmonton, Hinton, and after leaving the prairies you arrive at Jasper. Once the Yellowhead Highway crosses into British Columbia, it passes through McBride, Prince GeorgeVanderhoof, Burns Lake,  Smithers, Terrace, and Prince Rupert.

Yellowhead Route #16


While the Yellowhead Route is consider PART of the Trans-Canada Highway network  IT IS NOT “The Trans-Canada Highway”